April 2009

December 2010

August 2011,%20group%20lunch.JPG



December 2011

Dr. JB Lee

Ph.D.: Georgia Institute of Technology

Research InterestsRF MEMS(Micromachined 3D high Q inductors (solenoid, spiral, toroidal) for RF front-end, On-chip tunable 3D solenoid inductors, RF MEMS Switches), Bio MEMS(Wireless micro-neuro transponder for neuroprosthetics, Nanoporous microcapsules for islet encapsulation, Microfluidics by EWOD, Microneedle array for painless drug delivery applications), Photonics MEMS(MEMS-based tunable nano-photonic crystals, Thermo-optic tunable light modulator, Polymeric MEMS-based tunable grating), Actuators(Metallic micro/nano grippers, Polymer microgrippers for biological sample manipulation, Improved optoelectronic device packaging using MEMS)


Phone: (972) 883-2893



Group Member


David Pierce

Research Assistant
Ph.D. Candidate

David Pierce received is BSEE and MSEE from the University of Texas at Dallas. He is currently pursuing his Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at the University of Texas at Dallas under the supervision of Dr. J-B Lee.


Research Interests: BioMEMS, microprobes for recording and stimulation, microtransponder design for biomedical applications, viticulture & oenology.


Phone: (469) 964-7712



Steven Foland

Research Assistant


Steven Foland received his B.S. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Texas at Dallas in 2008. He is pursuing his Ph.D. in biomedical applications of electrical engineering under the supervision of Dr. J-B Lee.


Research Interests:  BioMEMS, photonics, molecular diagnostics, RF MEMS.


Phone: (972) 883-6549



Daeyoung Kim

PH.D. candidate

Daeyoung Kim got B.S degree of EE from Korea Military Academy at 2003. As a signal officer, He has served the army since 2003. He got M.S degree of EE from Wayne State University (at Detroit in Michigan State) at 2007. Since the time, He had worked as a full time instructor at KAAY(Korea Army Academy at Yeong-Cheon) for two years. Now, he is pursuing Ph.D. Degree under the supervision of Dr. J-B Lee since Aug. 2010.


Research Interests:  Lab on a chip, MEMS devices.

Phone: (972) 693-0988



Jun Hyeon Yoo

Research Assistant

Jun Hyeon Yoo received his B.S degree (Electrical Eng.) from Korea University in South Korea and M.S degree (Electrical Eng.- Nanoscale devices & system) from University of California, San Diego. Now he is pursuing his Ph.D. degree under Dr. J-B Lee in Electrical Engineering at University of Texas, Dallas.


Research Interests:  Lab on a chip, Solid State Devices and Pressure Sensor

Phone: (214) 458-3787




Graduate Student


Research Interests







Former Group Members

·         Dr. Nimit Chomnawang, Ph. D. 2002, Lecturer at School of Engineering, Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand.

·         Dr. Kabseog Kim, Ph. D. 2004, Vice President, Jusung Engineering, Korea.

·         Dr. Daniel Sang Won Park, Ph.D. 2004, Research Scientist, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA.

·         Dr. J-C. Lee, Post-doc 2003-2004, Member of technical staff, R&D Center, Kumoh Electric Co. Ltd, Korea.

·         Dr. Arun Kumar Nallani, Ph. D. 2005, Manager, ATO Module Engineering, Intel Corporation, Chandler, AZ.

·         Aidan Skoyles, M. Sc. 2006, An IP lawyer, Finnegan, Wahsington DC.

·         Dr. Hong Lu, Ph. D. 2006, Member of technical staff, Luminus Devices, Inc., Billerica, MA.

·         Dr. Mark Tinker, Ph. D. 2006, Member of technical staff, Stellar Micro Devices, Austin, TX.

·         Dr. Brandon Pillans, Ph. D. 2006, Technical lead, MEMS division, Raytheon Company, Dallas, TX.

·         Dr. Karthik Colinjivadi, Ph. D. 2007, Senior Process Development Engineer, Lam Corporation, San Jose, California.

·         Uday Gurnani, B.S. 2007, Applications Engineer, TI, Houston, TX.

·         Dr. Yonghao Cui, Ph. D. 2010, Post-doctoral fellow, Georgia Tech, Atlanta, Georgia.

·         Dr. Yong-Jun Shin, Ph.D. 2010, Assistant Professor, University of Connecticut, Storrs, Connecticut.

·         Dr. Sung-Hoon Cho, Ph.D. 2010, Member of technical staff, Samsung Electronics System LSI division, Gihung, Korea.

·         Cody Moody, M.S. 2010, Member of technical staff, Raytheon Company, Dallas, TX.

·         Dr. Joonbum Kwon, Ph. D. 2012, Plasma Process Engineer, TriQuint, Richardson, TX.

·         Dr. Kyung-Hak Choi, Ph. D. 2012, Senior Engineer, Silicon File, Korea.

·         Dr. Ning Xue, Ph. D. 2012, Scientist, Institute of Microelectronics, Singapore.

·         Dr. Arun Gupta, Ph. D. 2012, Member of technical staff, Texas Instruments, Dallas, TX.

·         Benjamin Swedlove, M.S. 2012, LED Epitaxy Process Development Engineer, Cree, Inc., Durham, North Carolina.

·         Hoang Nguyen, B.S. 2012, graduate student, UT Dallas.

·         Joon Sohn, B.S. 2012, graduate student, Stanford University, Stanford, CA.

·         Dr. Youngsam Yoon, Ph.D. 2013, Army, Korea.

·         Yunho Lee, M.S. 2013, Army, Korea.

Former and Current Visitors

·         Dr. Eongon Kim, Hanbat National University, Korea.

·         Dr. Koangki Yoo, Hanbat National University, Korea.

·         Dr. Sungpil Chang, Inha University, Korea.

·         Dr. Dong-Weon Lee, Jeon Nam National University, Korea.

·         Dr. Yunhong Kim, Sangmyung University, Korea..

·         Dr. Heebok Lee, Kongju National University, Korea.

·         Dr. Cheon Lee, Inha University, Korea.

·         Dr. Kyung Hwan Kim, Kyungwon University, Korea.

·         Dr. Wooseong Che, Kyungsung University, Korea.

·         Dr. Jaeheung Lee, Hanbat National University, Korea.

·         Dr. Myungsoo Lee, Korean Agency for Technology and Standards.

·         Dr. Sanghee Son, Cheongju University, Korea.

·         Dr. Hoon-Ju Chung, Kumoh National Institute of Technology, Korea.

·         Dr. Seungchan Kang, Korea University of Technology & Education, Korea.


© 2012 MiNDS (Micro/Nano Device and System Lab)
University of Texas at Dallas
All Rights Reserved

Home | People | Research | Publications | MEMS Data | Facilities | Contact Us